MTN Radio Awards 2012 – record number of entries received

Entries for the 2012 MTN Radio Awards have shown that the awards programme has grown in stature and popularity. With around 700 entries already received, the MTN Radio Awards programme has shown significant growth of 75% year-on-year over last year’s 400 entries. “There are still a few entries that we need to capture on our system” says Awards COO, Taryn Westoby.

Rich Mkhondo, MTN Radio Awards Chairman announced the members of the adjudication panel. “This year, we have expanded the panel and incorporated many suggestions received from public at large and industry,” says Mkhondo. “We have a diverse range of judges, with good geographical distribution and we are still awaiting the confirmation of a few more judges who have to confirm their participation.”

The list of confirmed judges includes:

• Zandile Nzalo – Managing Director – Zanenza Communications
• Greg Maloka – Station Manager – Kaya FM
• Anthony Duke – Radio Consultant
• Patrick Bogatsu – Programme Manager – Gagasi 99.5FM
• Andy Rice – Advertising and Media Commentator
• David Mashabela – Radio Presenter and Consultant
• Musa Kalenga – Head of Digital Marketing – Nedbank
• Doc Fick – Head Radio – National Electronic Media Institute of South Africa
• Alan Khan – Senior Director: Corporate Affairs at Durban University of technology
• Tony Lankester – Managing Director Grahamstown National Arts Festival
• Gilda de Araujo – General Manager Radio Advertising Bureau
• Deon Maas – Author, Publisher, Film-maker, Social Commentator and Chaos Agent
• Jayne Morgan – Broadcaster and Radio Consultant
• Ismail Variava – Station Manager – Radio Islam
• Koos Radebe – Former Station Manager of Metro FM
• Ed Jordan – South African award winning musician
• Lance Rothschild – CEO MTN Radio Awards
• Jeremy Maggs – Founder MTN Radio Awards
• Rich Mkhondo – Chairman MTN Radio Awards
• Selwyn Bartlett – Entertainment and Events Consultant and Former Station Manager

“As with most Awards programmes, peer review forms a vital part of the process of adjudication. We will ensure the integrity of the results through precluding judges from scoring entries in categories within which they have interests. This means that people from Commercial Stations will not judge entries in the Commercial sector, and people from Community Stations will not judge entries in the Community Sector,” add Mkhondo. “In addition, each entry is reviewed by several judges and we are able to preclude and eliminate any perceived bias.”

“In keeping with the founding philosophy of the MTN Radio Awards, we want to acknowledge excellent work in radio and encourage and inspire even greater work, to ensure that listeners are offered excellent, compelling programming,” says Mkhondo.

Serame Takaubong, MTN’s Chief Ayobaness Officer says: “We are thrilled at the number of entries this year. The inaugural 2010 MTN Radio Awards generated 200 entries and to see the growth to 400 entries in 2011 and to 700 this year is confirmation that this is indeed an Ayoba programme for MTN to be involved in. I am thankful for all the hard work that the stations have put into their submissions and I wish the stations luck with their submissions. The judges are most certainly going to have their work cut out for them and will commence judging on the 27 February 2012. I am looking forward to the Awards Banquet which takes place in Sandton on 14 April and which promises to be “Louder Still”.

For tickets to the MTN Radio Awards Gala Banquet, contact Taryn Westoby on 011 803 2040 or [email protected]



Share this article
MTN Radio Awards 2012 – record number of entries received