Samsung Announces its Winter Campaign winners

Samsung are proud to announce the winners of its ‘Let the games begin’ winter retail promotion – where lucky South Africans have won over R1 million worth of prizes, from a variety of Samsung products through to brand new Hyundai Elantras!

Says Michelle Potgieter, Head of Corporate Marketing and Communications at Samsung South Africa; “As a presenting partner of the Olympic Torch Relay – which took place in July this year – this promotion aimed to bring the spirit of the Olympics to all South Africans and showcase our world class products! What better prizes can sum up world class than Samsung’s latest innovative product range and the 2012 Car of the Year!”

“Consumers were able to enter into the promotion – which closed on the 31st of August 2012 – simply by purchasing Samsung products at any of the participating retailer outlets, and submitting their product serial numbers via SMS promotion line,” says Potgieter. “We had an overwhelming response thanks to our successful marketing efforts. At an intimate event, held at the Bryanston Hyundai dealership on Wednesday, the 24th of October 2012, our 5 lucky winners of the main prize which consisted of a Hyundai Elantra enjoyed being treated as VIPs and of course, ended the day driving away in their brand new vehicle!”

The winners included: Daniel Ramabula from Limpopo, Nicky Antunes from Johannesburg, Natalie Vermaak from Springs, Kathy Visser from Rustenburg and Kwene Selepe from Hammanskraal. There were many great stories behind the winners including; an accidental power surge that left Ms Antunes from Johannesburg stranded without a television which turned out to be a blessing! They purchased their television and entered the competition on the last day, and won!

A loyal Samsung customer – Mr Ramabula from Limpopo – purchased a fridge which allowed him to enter the competition and he subsequently won. Additionally, his name appeared twice in the automated and audited top 40 draw. Obviously it was meant to be!

But most heart-warming was the story behind Mr and Mrs Vermaak from Springs, included below.

Says Mrs Vermaak; “I went to purchase a laptop in August this year, as I wanted to transfer all my personal information from my work PC. When you contacted me to let me know I had won the Hyundai Elantra it was, and still is, a dream come true. However, as heart breaking as it was, my husband and I have opted to sell the car and keep the money to allow my son to continue his studies at the University of Pretoria – he is a 1st year Civil Engineering student. After trying many companies for bursaries – given the cost of tertiary education – we were unsure whether we would afford the continuation of his studies. But thanks to Samsung we now can! Samsung have helped make a child’s dreams come true and I would like to sincerely thank everyone – you will never know how much this means to us. Thank you, thank you, thank you!!!”

Here is a full list of winners in the Samsung Winter Games promotion

  •  Car Winners:
  1.  Kathy Visser
  2.  Kolobe Daniel Ramabula
  3.  Kwena Jackson Selepe
  4.  Natalie Vermaak
  5.  Nicky Antunes
  •  Notebook winners: 
  1.  Pearl Abrahams
  2.  Dilip Lakha
  3.  Junaid
  4.  Prudence
  5.  Craig
  6.  Fatima Khan
  7.  Mawethu
  8.  Hilton Rens
  •  Audio dock winners: 
  1.  Alfred
  2.  Sunette Erasmus
  3.  Paulina
  4.  Marcus
  5.  Ria Hillebrand
  6.  Lesedi Mothola
  7.  Solomon Tyira
  •  Camera winners:
  1.  Amina
  2.  Geoffrey Gaseemeloe
  •  Monitor winners:
  1.  Ntahli
  2.  Anna
  3.  Duduzile Kumalo
  4.  Amien
  5.  C. J. Janse van Rensburg.
  6.  Beron Dlamini
  7.  Cindy Liebenberg
  8.  R. Allie
  •  Printer winner:
  1.  Mapula Magagane
  •  Mall Winners (EA Games; Camcorders or Galaxy Pocket):
  1.  Erica Matshika
  2.  Carmen Loots
  3.  Dumisane Mthiyane
  4.  Mohsin Ismail
  5.  Elize Lotter
  6.  Christina Pillay
  7.  Bradley Boshoff
  8.  Reitumetse Mphooso
  9.  Jacqueline Price
  10.  Shawn Mugeri
  11.  Javed Khan
  12.  Ignatius Kambanje
  13.  Zwelethu Gumbi
  14.  Hendrik Roodt
  15.  Denzell Edgar
  16.  Babitha Dhanukdhari
  17.  Kegorapetse Mosima
  18.  Edward Balie
  19.  Deneshree Thomas
  20.  Mashana Mellania
  21.  Muhammad Zakariyya Bholat
  22.  Phillipia Moodley
  23.  Siphumeze Ncambele
  24.  Zanele Mtshweni
  25.  Lesego Motsepe
  26.  Quinton Smith
  27.  Crispen Mthembu
  28.  Nomvula Khumalo
  29.  Nicolene Mackenzie
  30.  Luvuyo Gladile
  31.  Magdalena Petkova
  32.  Thulisile Fani
  33.  Sipho Hlaletwa
  34.  Nauslaad Ebrahim
  35.  Nazir Nanabhay
  36.  Emmanuel

Please watch the press for our Summer campaign promotions or visit to view all our latest product offerings.

Share this article
Samsung Announces its Winter Campaign winners