Consumer Awards winners announced

The Consumer Awards – powered by Wesbank – has announced the 13 category winners of its 2017/2018 Consumer Awards.

Now in its third year, the awards represent some of the best purchasing propositions in the new car market.

20 car brands were represented by the 39 finalists, with all vehicles available in the South African market since 1 September 2017 eligible for the awards.

The scores of 18 judges accounted for half of the finalists’ total points, while the remaining 50% was based on rankings that the respective vehicles’ brands achieved in the Ownership Satisfaction Survey.

The winners of the 2017/2018 Consumer Awards are listed below.

Category Winner
Premium Hatchback of the Year  VW Golf 1.4 TSI Comfortline R-Line DSG
Leisure Double-cab of the Year  VW Amarok V6 TDI Highline Plus 4Motion
Executive Sedan of the Year Mercedes-Benz E350d Avantgarde
Premium SUV of the Year Volvo XC90 T8 R-Design
Business Class of the Year BMW 420D Gran Coupe Sport Line Sports-Auto
Compact Family Car of the Year Suzuki Vitara 1.6 GLX Auto
Fun Car of the Year Mini JCW Sports Auto
Compact Hatchback of the Year Mazda2 1.5 Individual
Budget Car of the Year Suzuki Ignis 1.2 GL
Performance Car of the Year BMW M2 Coupe MDCT
Family Car of the Year Mazda CX-5 2.5 Individual Auto
Adventure SUV of the Year Toyota Fortuner 2.8 GD-6 Auto 4×4
Executive SUV of the Year Mercedes-Benz GLC 25Dd 4Matic AMG Line
Brand of the Year Suzuki

Visit for more information about the #CarsAwards, including the category criteria and to view images of the award recipients.

Share this article Consumer Awards winners announced